Paris

Six Scenes Paris

Last year I spent a week in Paris. It was not my first visit there. I used to live in France, and while I left there 10 years ago, I’ve been back a number of times since.

For the visit in June 08 I stayed in an old apartment in the Marais. From there is is a short walk to Notre Dame, and about an hour’s walk to the Champs Elysees.  You are always fine in Paris if you are near a metro station.

One day I caught the train out to Montmartre. My goal for this visit was to see a few cemeteries and take some photos. I went to Pere Lachaise cemetery and also the cemetery at Montmartre.

Parisian cemeteries are wonderful snapshots of French history and decorative arts. There are some wonderfully lavish tombstones in Pere Lachaise, many carved in an intricate Art  Nouveau style.

One thing that intrigued me was in Montmartre cemetery there were a lot of graves which had high-standing crypts with beautiful glass windows.  There were also many monuments with skull and cross bones, owls, bats and other interesting symbols. You don’t see too much of that in the cemeteries here in Melbourne.

Montmartre Cemetery

Montmartre Cemetery

 

Pere Lachaise Cemetery

Pere Lachaise Cemetery

Pere Lachaise Cemetery

Pere Lachaise Cemetery

Batty

Batty

Montmartre Cemetery

Montmartre Cemetery


Leave a Reply

