Happy Birthday Mum

It’s my mother’s birthday today and I made her a charm necklace. I’ve been collecting the pieces for nearly a year, and it all started with the engraved Victorian-era seal. The initials on the seal are the same as my late step-father’s, mum’s late husband – ‘WJH’. From that the idea formed and I then found a little Victorian gold heart with the letter ‘H’ engraved into it – mum’s name is Heather. Then I found the little gold locket where she can put a photo or two, or some other memento. It all came together in a necklace which I gave her on the weekend.

The artwork is one I made a few years ago. It shows mum back when she was a girl, and I used some words from a David Bowie song called ‘Andy Warhol’.


Leave a Reply

