Coming out of hibernation

I have been in a sort of creative hibernation for a while. A hiatus of sorts, while moving house and changing a lot of things in my life. It’s all good now, great in fact, and now I am bringing my creating things out for some new designs. 

I have a thing for Whitby jet and shell cameo. It’s my favourite combination of materials in jewelry. I have quite a few pieces now and have been coveting these for some new designs. 

Whitby and Shell

 

 I don’t have a great work surface right now so it’s a little difficult to spend too much time making things, but I have plans for an ironing board which I think will become a new workbench 🙂 I did finish some earrings and a necklace last night and will continue on with some other pieces tonight. 

Treasure Pot Necklace

 

Treasure Pot uses beautiful orange garnets, antique book chain and a lovely, petite French powder puff pot which has a little mirror inside. It is without its original powder but could be handy to store other essentials. It will be listed for sale on my Etsy Shop Atelier de Talaru

I wanted to share some old artwork I made. It’s winter here and I miss the flowering trees. I made this artwork a few years ago after taking my camera around in spring once everything came into flower. I love the blue sky in these pictures. 

Fascination

 

I love bees, so much in fact that I have one tattooed on my wrist. Here is a small collection of bee-themed goodies I’ve collected ready for new designs. I’m not sure if any of these will make it for sale though 🙂 

Busy Bee

 Larimar is such a divine stone. Its colour is the lightest but deepest blue you can imagine, just like a Caribbean sky. It is quiet rare and relatively expensive, but worth evey cent to make into beautiful earrings like these.

Crystal and Larimar Earrings


One response to “Coming out of hibernation

Leave a Reply

