Welcome…Lulu

Lulu was conceived while watching Antiques Roadshow on TV. A lady brought in an Art Deco necklace made from multiple strands of pearls and rubies – a really grand piece. I immediately rushed out and got my sketchbook and drew it (as best as I can draw).

I thought about it for a while and decided what would and would not work on a modern interpretation of this antique design. Lulu is the most well-planned piece I have ever designed – I noted down measurements for the strands, for the tassel components, how the toggle clasp would work and so forth.

And voila! Here is Lulu – an extravaganza of pearls, diamonds and pink sapphires. Those real diamond beads and toggle clasp really dazzle, but unfortunately the dull conditions when I photographed it do not show its full sparkle. The sapphires are a juicy musky pink colour. The necklace is composed from approximately 110 inches or 9 feet of hand-wired freshwater pearl chain.

I have a few thoughts going through my head on whether I keep it as-is, or embelish it further. Do I put some more charms onto the toggle, to complement the tassel? Do I add little rubies or sapphires to the end of each strand of the tassel? It is simply elegant as it is, but I always wonder if I can make it better?

Oncve I’ve priced it up and stopped ruminating on changes, I will list it on Etsy.

Lulu1 - SOLD

Lulu2


3 responses to “Welcome…Lulu

  • Danette Darbonne

    Hi Melanie,
    I am not a TV person but occasionally enjoy “Antiques Roadshow” myself. I love Lulu. My vote would be to add the gems to the ends of the tassel but leave the toggle as is, or if you add to it, make it very subtle. I love your new designs!
    ♥Danette

  • Melanie Dooley

    Yes I think you are right Danette. Looking at the photo the tassel just seems to ‘end’ but not go anywhere. Little rubies will add some more colour as well. I’m so pleased you like it.

  • Lulu’s Dark Side « Vulticulus's Weblog

    […] necklace of pearls, diamonds and sapphires. It was white and pink and glittery.  I wrote about it here. Today I worked with anthter pave diamond piece I’ve had for a while, and made a darker […]

Leave a Reply

