Talismans and Gemstones…

…using lots of organic components is quite strange for me, but I’ve had these designs in my head for a long time now. I’ve gathered together the ingredients – spools of deerskin leather, rough gemstones, gold plated organic elements and I started putting it all together the other night.

As much as I love working with elements that have a history and provenance, I also like to work with components that can, at best, be described as organic. I’ve not left my historical heritage behind – I just incorporated them into these new designs. Such as the lovely dense black Whitby jet bead in the braided leather necklace. The jet bead is from the 1800s and probably adorned the bosom of a matronly Victorian widow. I added a gold plated feather, a leather tassel I made myself, and various gemstones and voila! The Talisman Necklace.

Talisman Necklace

I made this other design in honour of snow and ice. It is called ‘The Ice Queen Cometh’, mainly because I couldn’t think of another name.

The Ice Queen Cometh

And a little leather bracelet using antique fob charm and a French medal from 1855.


2 responses to “Talismans and Gemstones…

  • Denise Solsrud

    wouldn’t it be fun to see you dressed for an occassion? it would be interesting to see what jewels you save for yourself to wear. or maybe you don’t wear any of your handmades,some do not. but, i am thinking you do. and i would love to see how you decorate and if you surround yourself with items you love to look at. and are they a comfort to you? just some thoughts i have had. Bestest,Denise

  • Melanie Dooley

    Well Denise, you’re not too far from the truth. Though I don’t really go out much – kinda quiet, really. I actually don’t like attention. I do surround myself with the things I love and which inspire me. And I do wear my designs every day. It might be a Georgian locket from 1750 or the leather and organics creation I listed above. What does that say about me? That I don’t really know what I want? LOL. I’ll take more pics of my studio – it has developed a bit more character since my last shots.

Leave a Reply

