Dear Thief,

I can’t say it was nice to meet you last night at the market. I hope you are now enjoying the bracelet you stole from me. I must say, you are a good thief, swiping a $100 bracelet from my table. You have good taste, it is a lovely bracelet, so I can credit you with that. What you’ve stolen is a one-of-a-kind bracelet, handmade, which features an antique French marriage medal for Napoleon III, along with an antique pocket watch fob and a few gemstones. I should emphasise this bracelet is one-of-a-kind, and so if someone sees you with it on, they will know it is stolen. Here’s a photo to help out…

Stolen...

So how’s the rest of your Christmas thieving going? What did you nick for your mum? I hope she is proud of you? Best to get in early, before the final Christmas rush happens. There are thieves everywhere at this time of year.

Have a great festive season and I really, truly hope to see you next year πŸ™‚

In fact, let’s make a deal. You can wear this bracelet until March 2012. And then, when I have my first market of the year, you can come by my table and quietly put the bracelet back. Because, no matter how much you enjoy wearing this lovely piece, and no matter how much others might admire your good taste (because I am sure you will not tell them you stole it), you will still be a thief, and nothing will have changed. A pretty bracelet will not make you a better person. But you can change something, and do a little bit of good, by returning it. And then you will make it right. OK?


5 responses to “Dear Thief,

  • Glenda

    I am so sorry someone stole from you. I do know how you feel.
    My home was burglarized a few months ago and all my good jewelry, jewelry making supplies including all the vintage pieces I had stocked up to work on, along with other items were taken.
    Hope you are enjoying the holidays.

  • Denise Solsrud

    truly sad. i do hope your blog put that person with a feeling of guilt and not a happy person. the bracelet will never be enjoyed as it is hot. so, here’s to your guilt. Bestest,Denise

  • Melanie Dooley

    Thanks ladies, for your kind words. I don’t think thieves feel guilt, but wouldn’t it be great if the bracelet were to make its way back onto my table at the market next year?

  • Shabby Vintage Junk

    Oh this is AWFUL….I’m wondering if your lovely bracelet was ever returned….Although I have a strong feeling it was not, my fingers can’t help but cross themselves….!!

    It’s HARD when this ‘happens’ to us….I had two vintage Oroton satchels stolen at Camberwell this past Sunday but I’m afraid, I only have nastiness in my mind & am envious off your ability to offer a kindness to your thief as you have done here….!!!!!

    I hope it doesn’t happen to you again….!!!!!!

    Cheers,
    Tamarah

    • Melanie Dooley

      Sadly it hasn’t been returned. I’ve gone on to make more lovely pieces and sell more to lots of lovely new customers. Good things come to good people πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

