It’s hot, windy and I’m tired

Yes, as usual, real summer comes at the end of summer. We’ve had a few days in a row of 35-plus degree days and high twenties at night. We have air con, and it’s been on the past few days, but you still don’t feel like doing anything outside, or going anywhere. I have even lost a bit of motivation to make things…but I did get a bit of making in, over the past week.

I’m tired of getting knock backs for various markets around town. I’ve applied to quite a few but they don’t want to give me a table for some odd reason. Some even cost hundreds of dollars for a few days, and still they say no. Most say that they are looking for ‘design-oriented goods’. I’m wondering how they think my pieces come into being – hocus-pocus and the clicking of ruby slippers?

My old market moved to a smaller location and my space there is not guaranteed, which is a bit of a problem because that’s where all my customers expect me to be. They only tell you a week ahead of time if you have a space,and only if someone else cancels. That haphazard way of operating is not for me. I want to take a more professional approach and look after my customers better, rather than saying ‘I might be there – try your luck’.

I don’t want to be so unprepared…so I found another market – The Rose Street Artist’s Market. It has quite a good reputation around town so I am taking a stall there at the end of March. They were warmly welcoming, and I have to wait and see if this is the right demographic for my designs. Maybe my work is more ‘art’ than ‘craft’ – I tend not to lean towards cutsie rabbits and birdies done in crochet and felt.

I’m thinking that I should open a shop or get into a shop. I live in quite a good part of town and there are a lot of potential customers wandering around everywhere. Thing is, I like to tell people about my designs. I’d want to be there, not just leave it in the hands of a shopkeeper. There is an ideal little spot around the corner from my house, and another only a few stops on the train, outside the station. Problem is, I have a full-time management job – it’s hard to also run a shop.

That said, I have another very exciting project in the works. I’m really thrilled to be working on this project, which is VERY design based. You will have to wait and see my first items once they are ready – which I hope will be within the month. I think you will be surprised at what I am going to do next…but maybe not 🙂

Etsy is very slow right now, and I am the kind of person who can lose momentum if the activity is not there. I like to be busy. I am quite motivated though and am always branching into new things. Some work out, and some do not.

Sevres Collection

I was given access to a collection of prints  of 18th century Sevres porcelain designs. The porcelain items from Sevres are stunning – just Google it to see what I mean. I thought the images would make great pendants…and here is what I came up with (above).

I also made a few pairs of earrings with various antique elements – bone beads, brass stampings, Whitby Jet and pyrite.

Winged Goddess Earrings

Whitby Jet and Pyrite Earrings

Velo Bracelet

This bracelet is made from one of my favourite most recent finds – an old French bicycle registration plaque. The Art Nouveau styling and design is so lovely – it just had to be made into a bracelet. Can you imagine – something like this went from adorning a bike around 90 years ago to a bracelet to be worn in the 21st century! Isn’t design amazing?


4 responses to “It’s hot, windy and I’m tired

  • Denise Solsrud

    oh i could pull my hair out. how frustrating. i just completed a good note to you and accidently deleted. i will tell you that i had wrote about you on FB. and i am also looking forward and excitement as to what you are up to? Bestest,Denise

  • Denise Solsrud

    just put you on my FB wall. can’t wait to hear how your new rose st. mkt will work out for you. i have a feeling it should be good. anything with roses associated with anything is just perfectly fine with me. even gobs a fresh ones. our daugther is named carrie rose, named after my mom, virginia rose (there is even sheet music virginia rose written years ago) and my mother-in-law was rose two nieces and one of their daughters and also a friend’s daughter had a baby girl named jessalyn rose. also, i always consider craft should be labeled on items that are cutiesy. your type of creations are art. shops are fine,but you never have that connection and closeness with the customers. you never get to hear what they are thinking or saying about your love created jewelry. and yes, i absolutely am very excited to learn what you are working on. well for now, let your ♥ guide you. Bestest,Denise

  • Denise Solsrud

    yipes, i don’t know how i did it,i found the original comment just above. o.k. now i am going to bed,oh maybe a few pieces of cheese and crackers with hubby. we in wisconsin are getting built up for a winter blizzard come tues. afternoon. just when i made plans with joel our son and his wife and our 11 yr old grandson to go to minnsota. they will go to hockey game and they will drop me off at my mothers with anover nite and return on wednes. i promise, i’m gone 🙂

  • Danette Darbonne

    Hi Melanie,

    I love the Sevres pendants. I wish I knew how you make them. You must have printed them and I think they require resin but I don’t understand exactly how you do it. Care to let me know??

    ♥Danette

Leave a Reply

