It’s freezing – that means more time for making!

It’s well and truly winter now. The temperature got down to zero last night, which for us here in Australia is very cold. The days have been bright and sunny, but still quite cold. Yesterday was a very lazy Saturday – partly caused by the weather and mostly caused by some over indulgence the night before. What better therapy than a meat pie for breakfast and a day of jewelry making?

I want to share a few lovely things I have in my collection. It’s a random selection, starting with this incredibly detailed and beautiful solid bronze wall tile – I have two of them, and want to frame one. Not sure what I will do with the other. It might be good to have a mold taken and use it to make a plaster cast. But that’s a whole other project – one for which I have little time at the moment.

Image

A while ago I bought this exceptional antique handbag – well I think you call it a handbag, or maybe an opera bag. It’s designed to be worn on the waistline of a skirt, or on a belt or chatelaine. It was so over-the-top I had to buy it. The quality and condition are spectacular, for its age.

Image

Check out the silk interior and the pleating – still intact after over a hundred years.

Image

And the clip has this finely-worked theatrical face, which is what makes me think the bag was designed to be worn to the opera. It’s French and in leather. It was once gold or silver plated but this has since worn completely off.

Image

Do you like this old plate? I’m currently enamored of black and white plates, and some of my contacts in France have a great collection of Empire-era plates. This one is French, and it shows a vista of the Georgian-era property ‘Mount Clare’, in Country Surrey. It’s is suitably shabby and a little scratched, but very quaint and quite delightful. It dates to about 1810.

Image

I’m taking a break from the markets for this month – partly to have some weekends back to myself, and partly because I am selling out of a lot of pieces – so it’s going to be full-on making for the next few weeks.

ImageI made this necklace for myself – I love love love old coral. Before the days of damaging mass farming and dyeing of the coral, you can find Georgian coral in its original form. This necklace features a divine little Georgian coral hand pendant, a tiny seal with bees and a hive carved into it and one of my most treasured pieces – an 18th century French solid gold viniagrette. You can see from the photos that the viniagrette opens and reveals a little cavity for placing some perfume inside. These elements all came together beautifully in this necklace.

Image

Old coral can be a bit expensive and I don’t have much of it. I recently bought a strand of vintage angel skin coral – and I am still working out how to use those beads. I do have this pair of Georgian earrings with massive coral beads and tiny rose cut diamonds set into the design. So old, but still so very wearable today.

Image

I’m also working out what to do with this slide pendant – it has the letter ‘M’ worked in hair, with a wheat sheaf motif in hair as well – it’s a very lovely piece. I’m not inclined to wear a lot of hair pieces, partly because they are fragile and partly because they are not always worked very well. This piece will become a necklace or even a bracelet…one day.

Image

And now for some new designs to be listed at L’Atelier de Talaru very soon.

Paris Souvenir necklace, a miniature chainmaile purse necklace, a lovely French medallion necklace and a witty little Eiffel Tower pencil necklace. Click HERE to visit the shop.

Image

Image

Image


Leave a Reply

