A Different Direction

About a year ago I did a one day course to learn how to use Precious Metal Clay (PMC). For the uninitiated, PMC is fine silver set in a clay form which you can use in a variety of ways to create items, then when fired, it becomes nearly pure silver. PMC comes as bronze, gold and copper, but so far I have only used silver clay.

The clay can be rolled flat, pressed into molds, texturised and in many other ways manipulated like any sort of clay to form a shape. Once completely dry it can be fired with a butane torch in a few minutes (depending on the size of your piece).

I’ve been experimenting with the clay for the past few months and decided that if I wanted my designs to be absolutely unique then I had to make my own molds. I’ve collected old buttons for my jewelry designs and decided to mold some of these in order to make pendants and focals for these new designs.

I think it worked out quite well – here is the result. These designs will be listed in my Etsy shop soon.

;

Fine Silver Earrings with Pyrite and Tanzanite

Fine Silver Necklace with Peridot and Amethyst

Fine Silver Earrings with Lavender Opal and Iolite

Fine Silver Cameo Necklace with Coral, Pearls, Peach Moonstone and Gold

I’m particularly happy with the silver cameo. I made the mold from a 200 year old French brooch which has two cameos – exact replicas facing each other. So look out for earrings using this same design.

;


One response to “A Different Direction

Leave a Reply

