Hardware, Ancestors and Markets

Yesterday I posted the dates for my March markets. I hope I’ll see you there and I’m looking forward to showing and talking about my new ranges – Ancestors and Hardware.

I’ve scoured my favourite collectibles fairs and markets around Melbourne to source hardware and components for these designs. The rustier, chippier and more decrepit, the better. I love the challenge of transforming these discarded items into wearable treasures.

For the ‘Hardware’ range I am taking things like drawer handles, escutcheons, camera parts and washers and using rivets, eyelets and glue to create one-of-a-kind wearable artworks. Here are some, below:

An Art Deco Drawer Handle has been flattened, shaped and embellished with antique brass stampings. A lovely Gothic style cuff bracelet, I can add a chain and clasp for smaller wrists. I can also re-shape it a bit to make it smaller.

SONY DSC

 

 

Here is another drawer handle, the same as above, but embellished in a different way, with a tintype photo of three brothers dating to the 1860s, rusted antique filigree stampings, copper and brass bits.

SONY DSC

 

And here is a simple and sweet bracelet featuring a little girl, also from the 1860s. She is pouting and looks like she did not want her photo taken. Her cheeks have been rouged and she is framed by a brass washer and set onto a copper disc that I have etched and aged by hand. This bracelet looks fabulous on!

SONY DSC

 

My Ancestors range is ready to list online and it will be for sale at the Hawthorn Craft market this Sunday. I managed to get some better photos this morning so here is a reminder of what’s currently in this range. I’ll have a few more necklaces to list later today, once I’ve finished and photographed them.

DSC06637

 

DSC06643

 

DSC06640

 

DSC06638


Leave a Reply

